• Home
  • News
  • Women's basketall squad named for Rio test event

Women's basketall squad named for Rio test event

8 December 2015

BASKETBALL: The Australian women's basketball team are bound for Rio in January, with a 12 strong squad named for the upcoming test event tipping off on 15 January 2016.

While the test event team will be different to the final team that will contest the Rio Olympics, it retains much of the squad that won the bronze medal at the 2014 World Championships.

The team also contains many of the current captains of the WNBL teams and highlights the strength of the WNBL competition.

The Opals will contest the test event at the Carioca Arena at the Barra Olympic Park, which is the arena where the Olympics finals will be held for Women’s Basketball.

Departing on 10 January, the Jayco Opals will play on January 15, 16 and 17 against teams from Brazil, Argentina and Venezuela. The team will train in the Olympic venue from after arrival in Rio and will play an unofficial scrimmage with Brazil on the 13 January.

Opals Head Coach Brendan Joyce has stated that “It is always a fantastic opportunity to play the host in their country ahead of a major tournament. We had the same opportunity playing in Turkey prior to the 2014 World Championships. It is always positive for the team to familiarise themselves in the venue that will be part of the 2016 Olympic Games.”

“The team taken to this event will allow us to continue to develop our style of play, cohesion and develop the culture required for continued success. All of these elements are dynamic and as stated players will be added to this team prior to the Olympic Games in 2016.” Joyce said.

A number of players who would have made the squad have been omitted due to overseas commitments or injury.

The test event competition in Rio will be followed by training camps in March and April and tours of Japan and Europe in 2016 in preparation for the Rio Olympics.

Australian women's basketball squad
Rebecca Allen - SEQ Stars
Suzy Batkovic - Townsville Fire
Abby Bishop - University of Canberra Capitals
Natalie Burton - Perth Lynx
Katie Rae Ebzery - Sydney University Flames
Cayla George - Townsville Fire
Rachel Jarry - SEQ Stars
Tessa Lavey - Perth Lynx
Tess Madgen - Melbourne Boomers
Leilani Mitchell - Adelaide Lightning
Erin Phillips - LA Sparks
Stephanie Talbot - University of Canberra Capitals

Head Coach – Brendan Joyce
Assistant Coaches – Damian Cotter, Lori Chizik
Analyst – Scott Butler
Doctor – Dr Simone Page
Physiotherapist – Rachel McAlister
Soft Tissue Therapist – Kerry Lawrence
Manager – Tamara Sheppard

Basketball Australia


Related News

Sailing uncharted waters at Samoa 2019

Sailing uncharted waters at Samoa 2019

18 July 2019

Australia’s sailors have continued to impress on Day 10 of Samoa 2019, challenging more experienced and much older racers at the Sheraton Resort in Mulifanua.

Gold streak continues at Samoa 2019

Gold streak continues at Samoa 2019

17 July 2019

SAMOA 2019: Following on from Tuesday’s 7 gold medals, Australia added another 11 golds to the tally on Day 9 of the 2019 Pacific Games, including 10 taekwondo gold and a men’s 400m gold from Steve Solomon.

Australian squad named for Tokyo Test Event and World Championship

Australian squad named for Tokyo Test Event and World Championship

17 July 2019

Triathlon Australia today announced the 10-strong squad that will compete at the 2019 Tokyo ITU World Olympic Qualification Event to be held on 15-18 August 2019 at Obaiba Marine Park, Tokyo, and the team that will take on the 2019 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final Lausanne two weeks later.