• Home
  • News
  • AOC Congratulates Olympians in Queen's Birthday Honours

AOC Congratulates Olympians in Queen's Birthday Honours

10 June 2019

AOC: The Australian Olympic Committee (AOC) has congratulated Olympians Luc Longley, David Nilsson and Alisa Camplin-Warner who were recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours announced today.

All three recipients were named as Members of the Order of Australia in the General Division (AM).

The AOC also acknowledges the late silver medallist from Tokyo 1964 Jan Cameron, who was awarded a posthumous OAM. As Jan Murphy she teamed up with Dawn Fraser, Robin Thorn and Lyn Bell to claim silver in the 4 x100m freestyle. She was awarded a posthumous OAM for her services to swimming, particularly as a coach.

While three-times Olympian Luc Longley AM and two-times Olympian David Nilsson AM were honoured for their contributions to basketball and baseball respectively, Alisa Camplin-Warner AM was recognised for her support for paediatric health care.

AOC President John Coates AC says the trio have been champions in their sports but each has contributed to their country in many other ways.

“We talk about the values of Olympism and here we see those values in action.” Mr Coates said.

“Luc Longley AM has always been clear on how important it was to represent his country at three Olympic Games.

“While he had a stellar career as the first Australian to play in the NBA, he came back and contributed as an assistant coach of the Australian team. Luc certainly forged a path in basketball that many others have since followed.

“The same can be said for David Nilsson AM who represented Australia in the Athens and Sydney Olympic Games and also put his sport of baseball in the spotlight with a successful career in the United States.

“Importantly David has given back as coach of the Australian men’s team and other coaching roles”.

“As Australia’s first female winter Gold Medallist, Alisa Camplin-Warner was awarded an OAM. It’s gratifying that she has been further recognised for her work in the community.

“It’s a great credit to Alisa that she has risen to other challenges and met them head-on, just as she did as an aerial skier in two Olympic Games.

Mr Coates also acknowledged the President of Australian Sailing and AOC Executive Member Matt Allen AM who was recognised for his contribution to sailing.

“Matt has been a great contributor to the AOC as a member of the Executive and Chair of the AOC Finance Commission. And, of course, he has been for many years a very successful and influential leader in sailing.

“I would also acknowledge the Honourable Dr Annabelle Bennett AC whose contribution to the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) and its jurisprudence has been immense, including as a member of the CAS Ad Hoc Divisions at the Sochi 2014 Winter Olympic Games and Rio 2016 Summer Olympic Games.

“Also, Dr Susan White AM who is a member of the AOC Medical Commission, contributing to a number of Australian Olympic Teams.

“Congratulations should also go to the former President of Badminton Australia Geraldine Brown OAM for her award as well as Leanne Barnes OAM who played a significant role in women’s water polo making its debut at the Sydney Olympic Games.

“Finally, I would like to acknowledge Kate Palmer AM who is rightly honoured for her leadership, particularly of Sport Australia in recent years,” Mr Coates concluded.


Related News

AOC Welcomes Olympic Games Hosting Changes

AOC Welcomes Olympic Games Hosting Changes

26 June 2019

The AOC has welcomed key changes approved by the IOC at its Session in Lausanne today, that increases the flexibility for electing future Olympic and Paralympic Games hosts.

Olympians inspire communities across Australia in leadup to Olympic Day

Olympians inspire communities across Australia in leadup to Olympic Day

22 June 2019

Olympians are inspiring communities across the country in the leadup to Olympic Day on Sunday 23 July.