• Home
  • News
  • Aussie water polo squad named for FINA World League Intercontinental Cup

Aussie water polo squad named for FINA World League Intercontinental Cup

14 March 2019

WATER POLO: Australia’s men’s and women’s water polo squads have been named ahead of the FINA World League Inter-Continental Cup that will be held at HBF Stadium, Perth from 26-31 March 2019.

Countries from USA, New Zealand, Japan, China, Kazakhstan, Brazil, South Africa and Canada will all be in attendance as teams look to qualify for a spot in the FINA World League Finals.

USA won both the men’s and women’s titles at the 2018 FINA World League Intercontinental Cup in New Zealand and will be out to dominate once again.

The Aussies took home the silver medals and will be looking to go one better on home soil in front of a passionate crowd in Perth. 

Dual Olympian Rowie Webster said she is hoping by having more international test matches, it will inspire more young people to get involved in water polo.

"I’m actually so thrilled for these games to be on home soil. I remember when I was as a junior watching the 2017 World Championships in Melbourne and how inspiring that was for me," Webster said.

"I know NSWIS are bringing over some younger girls and there will be lots of local Perth junior and senior players who we have the potential to be inspired by the Aussie Sharks and Stingers, as well as some of the best teams in the world.

"To have that event in our country is phenomenal and is such a big step for grassroots. It’s a good way to share the special atmosphere that our game portrays," she continued.

"It is also a special moment to share with our families and the wider community of kids trying this sport for the first time and the school kids potentially going to see our game for the first and good flow on effect for our sport," she said.

Internationally based Aussie players, including Keesja Gofers, Hannah Buckling, Elle Armit, Jess Zimmerman, Lena Mihailovic, Joe Kayes, Nathan Power, George Ford and Anthony Hrysanthos, are returning home to help campaign for the Aussie Sharks and Aussie Stingers. 

They’ll be joined by their fellow squad members who will take a break from the busy OVO Australian Waterpolo League schedule in a bid to secure another medal for Australia on home soil.

The extended squads will head into camp in Perth with the final teams to be announced ahead of the FINA World League Inter-Continental Cup.


Zoe Arancini - Fremantle Marlins, WA
Elle Armit - Drummoyne Devils/Padova, NSW
Isobel Bishop - Sydney Uni Lions, NSW
Hannah Buckling - Sydney Uni Lions/Olympiacos, NSW
Pascalle Casey - UTS Balmain Tigers, NSW
Keesja Gofers - Sydney Uni Lions/Olympiacos, NSW
Lilian Hedges – Fremantle Marlins, WA
Tess Hosking - UWA Torpedoes, WA
Bronwen Knox - Queensland Thunder, Qld
Genevieve Longman - UTS Balmain Tigers, NSW
Lena Mihailovic - ACU Cronulla Sharks/FTC, NSW
Sophie Milliken - Queensland Thunder, Qld
Gabriella Palm - Queensland Thunder, Qld
Amy Ridge - UNSW Wests Killer Whales, NSW
Nioka Thomas - UTS Balmain Tigers, NSW
Rowie Webster - UTS Balmain Tigers, NSW
Lea Yanitsas - UNSW Wests Killer Whales, NSW
Jessica Zimmerman - Rapallo (Italy)


Nic Brooks - Drummoyne Devils, NSW
Richard Campbell - UNSW Wests Magpies, NSW
Joel Dennerley - UNSW Wests Magpies, NSW
Blake Edwards - Drummoyne Devils, NSW
Lachlan Edwards - Drummoyne Devils, NSW
Andrew Ford - UNSW Wests, NSW
George Ford - UWA Torpedoes/Mataro, WA
James Gillfeather - UNSW Wests Magpies, NSW
Lachlan Hollis - UNSW Wests Magpies, NSW
Rhys Howden - Queensland Thunder, Qld
Anthony Hrysanthos - Sydney Uni Lions/Vouliagmeni, NSW
Joe Kayes - Pro Recco (Italy)
Christian Kyriakou - Sydney Uni Lions, NSW
Angus Lambie - UNSW Wests Magpies, NSW
Charlie Negus - UNSW Wests Magpies, NSW
Nathan Power - UNSW Wests Magpies/Jadran ST, NSW
Tim Putt - UWA Torpedoes/Primorie, WA
Aidan Roach - Drummoyne Devils, NSW

Water Polo Australia

Related News

Inspiration at Uluru with Deadly Runners

Inspiration at Uluru with Deadly Runners

13 July 2019

In the shadow of Uluru, hundreds of people from across Australia gather together for the Deadly Fun Run Championships, lit by a dazzling purple and orange sunrise. The run brings together Indigenous communities and supporters of all backgrounds, ages and running experiences.

First #GiveThatAGold Winner Announced

First #GiveThatAGold Winner Announced

10 July 2019

AOC: The #GiveThatAGold competition celebrates local Aussie athletes who display the Olympic values every week in their sporting communities...

Related Sports

Water Polo

Water Polo

Related Olympians

Rowie Webster
Rowie Webster

Rowie Webster