• Home
  • News
  • Fox adds 'Athlete of the Year' to her tally at NSW Sport Awards

Fox adds 'Athlete of the Year' to her tally at NSW Sport Awards

28 November 2018

AOC: The strength of women’s sport has emerged with two-time paddling Olympian Jessica Fox and double paratriathlon World Cup event winner Lauren Parker taking out the top gongs at the NSW Sport Awards.

Fox, the first paddler to finish the entire paddling World Cup season undefeated, joins Ian Thorpe and Layne Beachley as a three-time winner of NSW’s Athlete of the Year, while Parker took out the Athlete of the Year with a Disability award.

Fox, who was named NSW Athlete of the Year in 2013 and again last year, enjoyed a stellar World Cup year winning five C1 gold medals plus three gold and a silver in the K1. These successes cemented her as the greatest slalom paddler in the world, with more Championships than any male or female in the history of the sport.

Fox emerged victorious in a hotly contested final vote ahead of Australian rugby league captain Boyd Cordner, surfer Stephanie Gilmore, winter Olympian Matthew Graham, Test cricketer Ellyse Perry, high jumper Brandon Starc and diver Melissa Wu.

In her first year as a paratriathlete and a mere 12 months after a serious bike accident, Parker won two gold, three silvers and a bronze medal in the International Triathlon Union’s paratriathlon World Cup Series plus bronze at the Commonwealth Games. She was also a finalist for The Don award recently presented by Sport Australia.

NSW Minister for Sport, Stuart Ayres, said Fox and Parker were exceptional champions and role models.

“Jessica and Lauren epitomise why NSW’s is Australia’s premier sporting state. Their achievements over the past 12 months were simply remarkable and they are worthy category Athletes of the Year winners,” said Mr Ayres.

“When you consider the quality and success of the other Award finalists, it further highlights their outstanding accomplishments. It also illustrates the strength of NSW sport, its pathway programs and athlete support systems.”

Fox and Parker were among six women who swept to Award success, including Liz Ellis (Netball), Louise Sauvage (Wheel Track and Field), Elizabeth Hole (Archery) and Jo Fernandes (Football).

Sport NSW Chairperson, Joseph La Posta, congratulated all award winners and finalists saying they are great role models for sport and to the wider community. “They have all shown great dedication and commitment towards attaining their goals in sport. They have done this with a high sense of enjoyment while demonstrating great respect to their fellow competitors,” he said.

You can read more about the award winners HERE




Athlete of the Year

Jessica Fox


Athlete of the Year with a Disability

Lauren Parker


Young Athlete of the Year

Tom Cornish


Young Athlete of the Year with a Disability

Tim Hodge


Masters Athlete of the Year

Elizabeth Hole      


Team of the Year

Sydney FC


Team of the Year with a Disability

Football NSW Cerebral Palsy team


Administrator of the Year

Jo Fernandes

Football NSW

Coach of the Year

Louise Sauvage

Wheelchair Track/Field

Event of the Year

The Sydney International


Local Council of the Year

Cumberland Council


Official of the Year

Chris Sinclair

Squash NSW

Organisation of the Year

NSW Rugby League

Rugby League

The Waratah

Liz Ellis



Sport NSW

Related News

AOC Welcomes Olympic Games Hosting Changes

AOC Welcomes Olympic Games Hosting Changes

26 June 2019

The AOC has welcomed key changes approved by the IOC at its Session in Lausanne today, that increases the flexibility for electing future Olympic and Paralympic Games hosts.

Olympians inspire communities across Australia in leadup to Olympic Day

Olympians inspire communities across Australia in leadup to Olympic Day

22 June 2019

Olympians are inspiring communities across the country in the leadup to Olympic Day on Sunday 23 July.