• Home
  • News
  • Olympians awarded top Australia Day Honours

Olympians awarded top Australia Day Honours

26 January 2017

AOC: Olympic rowing gold medallist, Kim Brennan, and our golden Women’s 7s rugby team are among 22 Olympic athletes included on the Australia Day Honours list.

Brennan who won the Women’s single sculls at Rio 2016 is awarded the Order of Australia (AM).

“It is such a special honour. I have been so fortunate to live in a nation of opportunity. Being able to represent my country on the world stage is incredibly humbling, but just as special is the opportunity to share the Olympic spirit with the Australian community” she said.

Chloe Esposito who won Australia’s first ever gold medal in modern pentathlon is awarded the medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

So too is shooter Catherine Skinner for her triumph in the women’s trap at Rio. Sailor, Tom Burton, victor in the Laser class in 2016, is also an OAM.

Olympic swimmers, Kyle Chalmers, the 100m freestyle champion and Mack Horton the 400m freestyle champion receive the OAM. Three members of the women’s 4 x 100m freestyle relay from Rio, Madison Wilson, Bronte Campbell and Emma McKeon are awarded the OAM. (the 4th & 5th members, Cate Campbell and Brittany Elmslie, received an OAM previously)

Twelve members of the women’s rugby team receive an OAM.

The other recipient of the OAM is Canadian-born mogul skier Dale Begg Smith for his success at the 2006 Winter Olympic Games in Turin.

As well as her amazing feats on the water, Brennan, who won silver and bronze at the 2012 London Games before her gold medal success at Rio, has made an outstanding contribution to the AOC Athletes’ Commission as its Chair from 2012-16 and currently its Deputy Chair.

“Through the Australian Olympic Committee Athletes’ Commission, I have thoroughly enjoyed working with a wonderful group of people to make sport in Australia more accessible, inclusive and meaningful” Brennan said.

The President of the Australian Olympic Committee, John Coates, congratulated all Olympic recipients.

“All twenty two recipients are outstanding ambassadors and espouse the Olympic ideals of fair play and sportsmanship” he said.

“Kim Brennan’s dedication and determination has paid off with three Olympic medals and she thoroughly deserves this accolade. Off the water she has also made an enormous contribution as a leader of our Athletes’ Commission and as a member of the AOC Executive” Coates said.


Kimberley Jean BRENNAN Rowing, Women's Single Sculls (AM)
Thomas Michael BURTON Sailing (Laser) (OAM)
Chloe Jeannie ESPOSITO Modern Pentathlon (OAM)
Catherine Ann SKINNER Women's Trap, Shooting (OAM)

Nicole Elise BECK Women's Rugby Sevens (OAM)
Charlotte Emily CASLICK Women's Rugby Sevens (OAM)
Emilee Jane CHERRY Women's Rugby Sevens (OAM)
Chloe Elysha DALTON Women's Rugby Sevens (OAM)
Gemma ETHERIDGE Women's Rugby Sevens (OAM)
Ellia Tiriseyani GREEN Women's Rugby Sevens (OAM)
Shannon Michelle PARRY Women's Rugby Sevens (OAM)
Evania Faaea Sarona PELITE Women's Rugby Sevens (OAM)
Alicia Jane QUIRK Women's Rugby Sevens (OAM)
Emma Kate TONEGATO Women’s Rugby Sevens (OAM)
Amy Justine Desma TURNER Women’s Rugby Sevens (OAM)
Sharni Maree WILLIAMS Women’s Rugby Sevens (OAM)

Kyle Brett CHALMERS Swimming, Men's 100m Freestyle (OAM)
Mackenzie James HORTON Swimming, Men's 400m Freestyle (OAM)
Madison Maree WILSON Swimming, Women's 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay (OAM)
Bronte Lynn CAMPBELL Swimming, Women's 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay (OAM)
Emma Jennifer McKEON Swimming, Women's 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay (OAM)

Dale Nygel BEGG-SMITH Men's Moguls Skiing, Torino 2006 (OAM)

Mike Tancred

Related News

Inspiration at Uluru with Deadly Runners

Inspiration at Uluru with Deadly Runners

13 July 2019

In the shadow of Uluru, hundreds of people from across Australia gather together for the Deadly Fun Run Championships, lit by a dazzling purple and orange sunrise. The run brings together Indigenous communities and supporters of all backgrounds, ages and running experiences.

First #GiveThatAGold Winner Announced

First #GiveThatAGold Winner Announced

10 July 2019

AOC: The #GiveThatAGold competition celebrates local Aussie athletes who display the Olympic values every week in their sporting communities...