• Home
  • News
  • Watch Australia vie for 2018 Oceania Rugby Sevens title

Watch Australia vie for 2018 Oceania Rugby Sevens title

9 November 2018

RUGBY SEVENS: The 2018 Oceania Rugby Sevens tournament takes place at Suva’s ANZ Stadium in Fiji on Friday and Saturday, with some of the best teams in the world competing for the Oceania title.

Watch the Live Stream HERE.

After finishing fourth at the 2017/18 HSBC Seven World Series, the Australian men have fielded a promising team, including the likes of Rio Olympians Lewis Holland, Nick Malouf, Jesse Parahi, John Porch and Henry Hutchison.


With 2016 Olympic Champions, Fiji, and Commonwealth Games and World Cup champions, New Zealand in this weeks’ tournament, the experienced Aussie side will be looking to test some of their best players ahead of the 2018/19 HSBC Sevens World Series. 

The tournament will be split into pools, with the men’s 13 teams split into four and the eight women’s teams split into two.

The Aussie men will start in Pool C, coming up against Vanuatu and Cook Islands. 

The Aussie women - current HSBC Seven World Series champs come in with a new-look team, mixing four national players with up and coming young talent.

Mahalia MurphyPage McGregor, Cassie Staples and Lily Dick are the only capped players, while the remainder of the squad come from the Uni 7’s.

Mahalia Murphy 

The women’s side will face Papua New Guinea, Samoa and Nauru in Pool A, while Pool B will be comprised of New Zealand, Fiji, Cook Islands and New Caledonia. 

As with the men’s competition, Comm Games gold medallists, World Rugby Cup and most recently, 2018 USA 7’s champions, New Zealand, will be the ones to beat in the women’s competition. 

The competition will run from 9-10 November and you can catch all the action on the Live Stream HERE


1. Lewis Holland (c) 

2. Jesse Parahi (vc) 

3. Nick Malouf (vc) 

4. Ben O’Donnell 

5. John Porch 

6. Michael Wells 

7. Liam McNamara 

8. Matthew Hood 

9. Boyd Killingworth 

10. Brandon Quinn 

11. Henry Hutchison 

12. Lachie Anderson 

13. Tim Anstee 


1. Lily Dick, Griffith University   

2. Rhiannon Byers, University of New England  

3. Kennedy Cherrington, Macquarie University    

4. Sariah Paki, Macquarie University  

5. Cassie Staples, University of New England  

6. Page McGregor, Macquarie University  

7. Jakiya Whitfeld, University of Sydney  

8. Laura Waldie, Griffith University  

9. Madison Higgins-Ashby, Macquarie University   

10. Hagiga Mosby, University of Queensland  

11. Eva Karpani, University of Adelaide  

12. Mahalia Murphy, University of Adelaide  

Liana Buratti

Related News

Larkin sets new 200m IM Commonwealth Record and fastest time this year

Larkin sets new 200m IM Commonwealth Record and fastest time this year

13 June 2019

For the first time in his career Mitch Larkin has swum sub 1:56 in the Men’s 200m Individual Medley, smashing his own Commonwealth and Australian record at the 2019 Hancock Prospecting World Swimming Trials.

Kendall Brodie's #OlympicTakeover

Kendall Brodie's #OlympicTakeover

12 June 2019

So what does a day in the life look like for a petite 53kg coxswain who heads a boat filled with eight burly men?

Australian Team announced for 2019 ISA World Surfing Games

Australian Team announced for 2019 ISA World Surfing Games

12 June 2019

Six World Surf League (WSL) Aussie superstars will represent the nation at this year’s International Surfing Association (ISA) World Surfing Games in what is the strongest Aussie team ever assembled for the event.